What’s in a Workstation?

Fact: The biggest baby is at daycare and the littlest is still so little that bringing her anywhere with me is like taking along a particularly cute potato.

Other Fact: While I’m crazy excited for today’s office glow up, courtesy of (tag), I don’t really need it. 

There was a time I thought I did. Great work only comes from great spaces, right? How can one create the next great novel, (or business idea, or blog, or Insta caption, or poem, or sketch), without a space that inspires? Don’t we need unswept brick fireplaces, french doors, dripping wax candles, tea kettle steam and creaky wood floors with a million stories caught between their boards? 

Nope. We really don’t. While it’s nice, truth is that all the aesthetic in the world won’t produce your next stroke of genius. Hard work will. Showing up over and over again will. Dismal though it may seem, I’ve written some of my best stuff with a mess of blue and yellow and red legos under my feet. 

So I’ll take the workstation glow up whenever I can get it. Because I still want it. But I don’t need it. And that, my friends, is incredibly freeing. 

One response to “What’s in a Workstation?”

Leave a comment